13
Jul
10

Am I Really a Paul Lee Hater?

“Trying to get everyone to like you is a sign of mediocrity.” -Collin Powell

Last saturday evening (July 10), I have made some witty post-game comments regarding Paul Lee’s unenthusiastic performance against UST. And, the following day I am officially branded as a “Paul Lee Hater.”

I just want to clarify this issue, especially with some of my friends in the Red Tribe that are sensitive when Paul Lee is the topic of discussion. Whether they treat me as a friend, a virtual friend or none of the above. But, in my part, I treat them all as my friend even though the last time I joined a Red Tribe activity was almost 4 years ago.

Fleshing it out:

1. Criticism is different from hating. If my memory serves me right, this would be the 1st time I had experience being branded as a “hater” only because I showed my disappoinment to a player’s performance.

As Tim Ferriss emphasize regarding criticism, “that the best people in almost any field are always the people who get the most criticism.” And, I am proud to say that at the moment, Paul Lee is the best player of UE and may be in the entire league. So, you have to expect criticism to barrage onto him, whether you view them as constructive or destructive –it’ll never go away.

2. Only because I said some disgust to Paul Lee’s lapses it wouldn’t mean that I am a non-believer. I want to state that, I am a proud son of Lualhati, and since 1995 I am a loyal supporter of the Red Warriors and a living witness to their numerous heartbreaking losses and glorious victories.

In my part, I do respect your passion towards a single player. I salute and honor everybody, especially some of the Red Tribe that are active in supporting Paul Lee.

But please, don’t take away my right and passion of supporting the UE Red Warriors as a whole TEAM.

At the utmost point, you guys were correct that it was not just Paul Lee to blame or to criticize for that defeat, but sorry to say this again without any witty side comment that Paul Lee owned the large chunk why the Red Warriors loss. He is the heart and soul of this season line-up, and what I saw was clear, his unenthusiastic attitude in that game was very disappointing. Remember, enthusiasm is contagious and being the heart of the team eventually affects the rest. Yes, may be he has an alibi, but in the UAAP every game is important. If Paul Lee is still not 100% ready don’t force it. See what happened, aside from his negative attitude inside the court, 36% of the turnover belongs to him. So please don’t compromise the whole TEAM.

And, in my post-game article I remember it was not written in any profane manner, I stated the facts and only the facts. Then, why the hell are you mad(?) at me and the rest. When in the past it was alright to show our discontent and to criticize a player/s errors, then suddenly it is a taboo; and when we freely express our opinions you guys will gonna brands us “hater”, “non-believer”, and “pathetic.”

3. Don’t feed the fire, troll. I will not name names, but I am saddened to some people that instead of helping to prevent the Tribe from a mounting divisiveness, they rather choose to completely torn it apart, by feeding the others’ sensitive emotion with fire.

I really hold high respect to those people that approach me and say their reaction and disgusto with firm dedication. But, for those flame throwers, free riders, and that irriating immature brat that made a statement that we have an ugly minds and ugly hearts. The only gesture I can do is slowly rise my middle finger to salute you. I am so eager to know how long have you been a supporter of UE to make such dreadful statement to a bunch of UE ALUMNI and students, especially to the creator of the group, the pro bono site technician, and to me of course.

4. I really praise the act of the Tribe’s founder, humbling himself for the rest of his co-tribe member. Showing the trUE attitude of a leader and character of a simple gentleman. I hail you Chief!

In my part, I already extended my apologies to some people I respect and I will say it again that I AM REALLY SORRY. But, for the brat you have to earn it.

Lastly, even though I extended my apologies. It does not mean that I will stop criticizing and showing my disappoinment if there are errors to be corrected.

And, If I have to eat my own shit at the end of this tournament for criticizing the team and a particular player, then I shall do, because as far I am concern all my criticism are more constructive rather than destructive; and I am more realistic rather than a blind-fanatic.

0 Responses to “Am I Really a Paul Lee Hater?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Be Updated with the Tira Blog

• TIRA UE •

Brave UE Warrior

• BLOG UPDATES •

KWENTONG BATIBOT

>> Panahon Ko 'To: UAAP Episode


>> Oh, UE Pep Squad at UERD, Ano ba?


>> Vuvuzelas in the UAAP? - Laughing Out Loud!


>> Now I want to buy those Appeton and Cobra Energy Drink


>> Ang Orig na UE Mascot, Nasaan na si Ultimate?


OLD AZCARRAGA VIEW

>> The First Tribe of Red and White


>> University of the East's 58 years in the UAAP


FEATURED FANCHANT

Pula

• SPORTS UPDATES •

CURRENT NEWS

>> 11/27/10 - PCCL Update: SBC def. UE.


>> 11/13/10 - Paul Lee was awarded as this year Bantay Bata UAAP-NCAA All-Stars MVP, after leading the UAAP All-Stars against NCAA All-Stars.


>> 11/13/10 - Former UE Red Warrior Bong Ravena and his son Ateneo Blue Eaglet Kiefer Ravena has won the Bantay Bata UAAP-NCAA Father and Son Shooting Challenge.


>> 11/12/10 - PCCL Update: UE def. UM, 100-74.


>> 11/11/10 - PCCL Update: UE def. UPHS-L, 80-44.


>> 11/05/10 - James Martinez is this year UAAP Hardcourt Heartrob.


TEAM STANDINGS


GAME SCHEDULE

2010-2011 Father Martin's Cup Open Division

December 4, 2010
Arellano Gym
UE vs EAC
2:30 P.M.


>> View full Schedule


CURRENT TEAM ROSTER

Kenneth Acibar

Garrick Ayala

Lord Casajeros

Erwin Duran

Biboy Enguio

Ivan Hernandez

Paul Lee

James Martinez

JM Noble

Samuel Razon

Raphael Reyes

Ezer Rosopa

Adrian Santos

Jhon Rey Sumido

Lucas Tagarda

Paul Zamar


100 Percent Warrior

• REFLECTING ON IT •

Keep in mind the difference between a winner's and a loser's mentality. Winners focus on winning big—not just how to win, but how to win big. Losers, however, don't focus on losing; they just focus on getting by!

• FLESHING IT OUT •

Each Warrior wants to leave the mark of his will, his signature, on important acts he touches. This is not the voice of ego but of the human spirit, raising up and declaring that it has something to contribute to the solution of the hardest problems, no matter how vexing!

Red Tribe of the East

Red Tribe

The official support group of the UE Red Warriors

Archives

Categories

Tira Stats

  • 49,688 shots

